the social network.

this film put me on edge. Maybe it was the music…Which was fitting and brilliant (scored by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross). Or maybe it was just the content. Anything that has to do with relationships getting destroyed by money and power is always a bit disheartening but it is reality. Sadly, this sort of web start-ups story is something I hear about all the time and I’ve heard all kinds of insane ones. They usually have an ugly turn out and end in destruction but sometimes, as in this case, it ends with billions and billions of dollars to be fought over. The acting was really great in this film. Jessie Eisenberg (played Mark Zuckerberg) was really, really great. I wasn’t sold on him when he first started emerging “on the scene” but after Holy Rollers I was like, Okay, this guy can act. And certainly after this film, I knew he could hold his own. He was truly captivating, Jessie makes you pay attention and you can’t help but watch him. His delivery of Aaron Sorkin’s (screenwriter) dialogue was on point and I don’t think anyone else could’ve captured that character the way Jessie did. He was Mark- snippy, sarcastic, mean, smart, interesting. It’s hard to “feel” for Zuckerberg’s character, after all, the guy’s a billionaire and it seems like he screwed over his friends in the end…But Eisenberg played him in such a way that makes you feel like you’re just like him. Or maybe not. Maybe you’re not an asshole nor a genius. In any case, the character is real and flawed, which is relatable enough. Jessie’s performance is filled with so many nuances and beats that makes you wonder whether he was shaped perfectly by David Fincher (director) or if he just has that instinct. No matter what the reason, it is quite clear that Jessie will be nominated for this stellar role. As far as Andrew Garfield (Eduardo Saverin) is concerned…I’m still not sold on him. I don’t know what it is. But I felt like he was so whiny… Much like in Never Let Me Go. A friend of mine had told me that you are going to feel bad for his character regardless, so why did he have to play it like such a pussy? And though it may sound a tad harsh, I have to agree. Maybe it’s cause he’s of the Brit ilk. Who knows. However, it would be totally unfair of me to throw him under a bus, after all, he’s going to be the next Spiderman…Garfield needs to take more risks. I believe he can act but he needs to tone it down and really feel the character on a normal, human level. Joseph Mazzello (Dustin Moskovitz) was subtle and super underrated. I haven’t heard many people talking about him or giving him any credit in this film. And since I’m all about justice I will go ahead and give him his due credit. Mazzello played that character so naturally that you would think he was some sort of brilliant engineer in real life. Maybe he is but I doubt it. Put simply, he was a great in all his scenes because it felt like he was a college student going along this crazy adventure with his friends. I wouldn’t be surprised if we start seeing more and more of him, now that he’s back on the scene. If I had to give my fortune on Mazzello, I would liken him to one of those actors that has true longevity. He was a great actor at 8 years-old (think Radio Flyer) and is a great actor now. Justin Timberlake (Sean Parker) was fine, I guess. I don’t think it’s hard for him to play a douche…Maybe it comes naturally…Or maybe he’s really good at channeling it. Whatever it is I will give Fincher the credit of taking the leap on casting Timberlake. It was a choice. It was his choice and it really did work for the story. But let’s just set the record straight that Parker didn’t “found” Napster- I call BS on that little piece of information. I really liked Armie Hammer (Cameron & Tyler Winklevoss) and Max Minghella (Divya Narendra) as well. I think both actors did a great job and were really fun to watch. I’ve never seen Hammer’s work before but I think this film will put him on the map. And, pulling off two roles isn’t that easy. Though I haven’t read the novel from which this film was adapted from, I think Aaron Sorkin shaped the story in such a manner so that you can feel the characters from start to finish even if there is no true completion in their arcs. Like I said earlier, this film put me on edge. I was uncomfortable for most of it but I think that was the point. David Fincher has always colored his films that way- you feel some sort of sad edgy anxiousness that you can’t quite put your finger on but you definitely are made to feel it. Even listening to the music makes you feel like you’re going to go crazy. But that was just it. It’s stories like these that make you go insane.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

