red cross.

mila: I’m currently on call right now… That means what it sounds like. When I came to New Orleans this time around, I suddenly decided that Habitat for Humanity was not enough to quench my thirst to venture out into non-profit organizations. So I started looking to the Red Cross… I signed up, took an orientation class and told them I wanted to be on the DAT (Disaster Action Team)… It’s basically a team of Red Cross people that respond to emergencies. So in this case, I’m on call to respond to fires for the most part. On average their is a fire call every 11 hours but there have been times when they’re occurring every few hours. I don’t know what it’s going to be like, I have this picture in my head of what it might be like… So we’ll see.

On the other hand, Red Cross as a whole has got me interested right now. I heard that Texas has sent out a call looking for ERV (Emergency Road Vehicle) drivers. Especially in the disaster zones along the coast… So, the plan is to wrap up things here in the next couple weeks, then head to Texas on my way home. I have been interested in checking out how bad the damage is since we only hear so much from the media. I have friends in the AmeriCorps that were deployed there and I saw some horrific pictures… It’s an idea that’s been formulating for a week now and I really feel strongly about it, so we’ll see what happens….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

